Spokane Historic Landmarks Commission

The City of Spokane adopted a historic preservation ordinance (04.35) in November 1981 that established the Spokane Historic Landmarks Commission as a body of private citizens charged with the preservation and protection of Spokane’s historic, architectural, and archaeological resources.  This is accomplished through the designation of historic properties to the Spokane Register of Historic Places, and subsequent design review of exterior changes. The Commission is governed by a set of Bylaws and Rules of Procedure. Each commission member represents a specific geographic area, or has a specific area of expertise and serves on the Commission for three years.  The Landmarks Commission meets monthly to review nominations to the Spokane and National Register of Historic Places, as well as applications for Design Review and Special Valuation.  The public is invited to attend Commission meetings in order to be involved in the City’s historic preservation process.   Landmarks Commission meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 3:00 p.m., in the Council Briefing Center, Lower Level, City Hall.  Review the current agenda packet here.

Check our calendar for upcoming Landmarks Commission meetings!

Back row L to R: Amanda Paulsen, Emily Rebert (former member), Nicholas Reynolds, Chris Noll, Kenneth “Mac” McCandless, Tom Sawyer, Cole Taylor, Ryan Benzie (staff), Logan Camporeale (staff). Front row L to R: Megan Duvall (staff), Jill Lynn Nunemaker, Austin Dickey, Ray Rast. (not pictured: Elizabeth Wood)


Current Commission Members

Austin Dickey Architect – Chair 12/31/24
Ray Rast Historian – Co-Vice Chair 12/31/24
Jill-Lynn Nunemaker County at Large Representative – Co-Vice Chair 12/31/26
Elizabeth Wood Historian 12/31/25
Chris Noll Archaeologist 12/31/24
Cole Taylor Real Estate Appraiser 12/31/25
Nicholas Reynolds City at Large Representative 12/31/25
Tom Sawyer Preservation Construction Specialist 12/31/25
Kenneth “Mac” McCandless Architect 12/31/25
Dawn Wynne County at Large Representative 12/31/25
Amanda Paulson City at Large Representative 12/31/24
Megan Duvall
Logan Camporeale
Ryan Benzie
Historic Preservation Officer
Historic Preservation Specialist
Clerk III